Computer Safety Alert! - If you use a computer and are involved in an abusive relationship, you must read these computer safety steps to ensure there is NO trace left behind of your computer history for your own safety.  Click here for more information.

Who We Are

Center for Hope and Safety (formerly Shelter Our Sisters) is dedicated to assisting victims, and their children, of domestic violence by turning fear into safety, helplessness into strength, and isolation into hope.

We are a not-for-profit agency founded in 1976. We strongly believe that every person has the right to be safe, empowered, and free from violence and the fear of violence. Our mission is to help you heal and grow through a wide range of services that give you the tools you need to leave the violence, and empower you and your children for new beginnings.

You can call us anytime if you or someone you know needs help. Our hotline is always available, ready for your call, 24 hours a day. Call us at 201-944-9600.

The People Behind Center for Hope and Safety

    
Executive Director

Elaine K. Meyerson, elaine@hopeandsafetynj.org

Associate Executive Director
Lil E. Corcoran, lil@hopeandsafetynj.org

Director of Development
Jean Kirch, jean@hopeandsafetynj.org

Director of Volunteers
Gervonn Rice, gervonn@hopeandsafetynj.org

Director of Project CHILD
Susan Bertolotti, susan@hopeandsafetynj.org

Director of Crisis Services/Shelter
Beatriz Wawra, beatriz@hopeandsafetynj.org

Board of Trustees
President, Susan M. O’Dwyer
Vice President, Gail P. Steinel, CPA
Secretary, Nancy Corcoran-Davidoff
Treasurer, Paula M. Star

Board Members

Anita L. Allen, CPA • Miriam Batkin, MBA • James Dronzek, Esq.  Jeff Forster • Hon. Rose M. Heck • Shelby Klein, LSW • Nora Kennington, MBA • William McInerney, Esq.  Cynthia A. Myer • Flora W. Perskie, MPA • Ruth M. Seitelman • Denise Spell • Paul Yoon, Esq. 

HOTLINE

If you or someone you know is being abused call our 24 hour hotline.

(201) 944-9600

Numero de emergencia las 24 horas

DONATE NOW

CLICK HERE to donate 

UPCOMING EVENTS

November 30, 2014 - December 24, 2014

 

AmazonSmile

Sign in with your Amazon account and when you make purchases,  Amazon makes a donation to us. Click here to find out how!